Status and Operation

The agreement has been in continuous operation since its earliest inception in the late 1970’s. Currently, twelve countries participate: Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States. We continue to seek even broader participation.


Each member country, in turn, hosts the annual gathering of task investigators at a Task Leaders Meeting (TLM).  At the TLMs, presentations of progress are made through papers and poster sessions centered around each of the current nine task areas.  Subtasks in the current nine major task areas have grown to more than 50.  The TLMs have grown over time to attract more than 50 to 60 researchers from around the world. The TLMs offer opportunities for close interaction with fellow researchers from around the world. In addition, industry is invited to participate in the TLMs.


Executive Committee meetings are held twice annually: Once in Paris at the IEA Headquarters and once in conjunction with the annual TLM.  Delegates from each country attend to discuss and make decisions about the functioning and directions of the Combustion TCP.