Current Status

The agreement has been in continuous operation since its inception. Currently, 11 countries participate: Finland, France, Germany, Japan, Korea, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and the USA.


Each member country, in turn, hosts the annual gathering of investigators at a Task Leaders Meeting where the presentation of progress through papers and poster sessions offers opportunity for close interaction with fellow scientists. The ten or so sub-tasks of the late 1970s has increased to in excess of fifty sub-tasks today, and the two-day Task Leaders Meetings that attracted 25 people then now last up to four days and draw 50-60 or more researchers.